My most recent reads!

I’ve decided to compile a small list of some of the books I’ve recently read and enjoyed!Let’s see what you guys think and whether or not you’ve read them and enjoyed them too!

So, let’s start!

metal

First off we have New World Rising by Jennifer Wilson.

91DD1E98msL.jpg(Just look at this cover!)

I bought this book ‘cos of the cover. I mean, I read the blurb and so on, but let’s face it… With a cover like that, this book could’ve been about the frequency with which birds poo and I still would’ve bought it!

What’s it about?

Since witnessing her parents’ murders at the age of eleven, Phoenix’s only purpose in life has been to uphold her mother’s dying words- to be strong and survive. But surviving outside of The Walls- outside of The Sanctuary- is more like a drawn-out death sentence. A cruel and ruthless city, Tartarus is run by the Tribes whose motto is simple, “Join or die.” Refusing to join and determined to live, Phoenix fights to survive in this savage world. But who can she trust, when no one can be trusted? Not even herself.

Pretty interesting, right?

Well, the book was extremely good!!!! I enjoyed every minute of it. The main character, Phoenix, is tough but also sweet and caring. I love the world and the tribes and everything that happens within the story.

I wasn’t convinced by the romance and how it played out… I dunno, might grow fonder in book 2.

4345d4c5b04966d5b5a05ceccd18366c5ceacf726fb4ae3ad90a93d01c785f16.jpg

Next off we have Blackheath by Gabriella Lepore

91re3ZKeokL.jpg (Another incredible cover!)

This book is AMAZING. I thought I loved New World Rising, but Blackheath was even better. The characters were brilliant, the plot was intriguing and I loved the fact that the witches were boys!

harry-potter-daniel-radcliffe-hogwarts-wizard-teenager-teen-5.jpg

So, what’s it about?

Seventeen-year-old Maggie Ellmes is dogged by a case of chronic bad luck. She figures that’s just her lot in life—that is, until the psychic at Blackheath’s annual carnival reveals that Maggie’s problems are caused by more than just ordinary misfortune; she’s actually been cursed. Desperate to shake the hex, Maggie has no choice but to seek out the help of Joel Tomlins, a rebellious classmate who’s descended from Blackheath’s most powerful line of witches. After breaking all of his coven’s conventions to help her, Joel discovers that the curse isn’t as bad as Maggie fears. In fact, it’s much, much worse.

Finally, we have The Winner’s curse by Marie Rutkoski

16069030.jpg

I had this book on my shelf for ages and I could never be bothered to pick it up. Finally, I decided it was about time to read something in Spanish (my edition was in Spanish) and so I began to read…

HOLY MOLLY!

I could not put this book down! I loved the world setting and the main character! I loved the idea of one group conquering another, and two characters from each group falling in love (Romeo and Juliet, perhaps?).

I have to admit that, I did love the romance, but there were parts where I just wanted to kick them in the backside. I love drama, the whole…”I want to be with you but I can’t so I’ll just stare at you dramatically and walk away”. I love that, ‘cos it makes my heart want to burst. But these guys were so… At first it felt as though they hated each other… and Arin (the guy) never really said anything nice to the main character..

Still, I love it anyway.

What’s it about?

They were never meant to be together. As a general’s daughter, seventeen-year-old Kestrel enjoys an extravagant and privileged life. Arin has nothing but the clothes on his back. Then Kestrel makes an impulsive decision that binds Arin to her. Though they try to fight it, they can’t help but fall in love. In order to be together, they must betray their people . . . but to be loyal to their country, they must betray each other.

 

Have you read any of these books? Did you enjoy them? Hate them?Let me know!

If you wish to know about the artist behind the covers of New World Rising and Blackheath, you can check her out here: http://www.kimg-design.com/

Here’s a pic of a cute bunny wearing a little bag to cheer your day up!!!If you’re having a great day, you are still entitled to feel cheered up by this pic!

651fd6fa454a79e84c04126b758caa07.jpg

2 thoughts on “My most recent reads!

Leave a Reply

