Hex Hall Series Review

hex-hall,-tome-1---hex-hall-325384.jpg

I came across this series through Amazon, basically because Amazon loves to track what you buy and decided to recommend this series to me. And I am grateful to you, Amazon, for always knowing what I need.

o9ma9.jpg

I didn’t expect much from this series. I thought it might not be the right age group for me, as it looked a little young-ish. I also assumed it would be another book about a girl in a school, with all the school drama and so on and so on.

Actually, it was kinda like that.

1734966e1a94ff9df821c81975126c4d

But in a good way, I swear!

Here’s the blurb for the first book, so you can get an idea:

“Three years ago, Sophie Mercer discovered that she was a witch. It’s gotten her into a few scrapes. Her non-gifted mother has been as supportive as possible, consulting Sophie’s estranged father-an elusive European warlock-only when necessary. But when Sophie attracts too much human attention for a prom-night spell gone horribly wrong, it’s her dad who decides her punishment: exile to Hex Hall, an isolated reform school for wayward Prodigium, a.k.a. witches, faeries, and shapeshifters.

By the end of her first day among fellow freak-teens, Sophie has quite a scorecard: three powerful enemies who look like supermodels, a futile crush on a gorgeous warlock, a creepy tagalong ghost, and a new roommate who happens to be the most hated person and only vampire on campus. Worse, Sophie soon learns that a mysterious predator has been attacking students, and her only friend is the number-one suspect.

As a series of blood-curdling mysteries starts to converge, Sophie prepares for the biggest threat of all: an ancient secret society determined to destroy all Prodigium, especially her.”

THINGS I LIKED ABOUT THE BOOK

*Drum rolls*

metal.gif

I loved Sophie. She’s an awesome character with an awesome personality. I love sarcasm  and this girl was like the Queen of Sarcasm. I have to admit, that as the series went on, she became more and more sarcastic to the point where everything she said was sarcastic, and it did become a little bit annoying. Don’t get me wrong, I love sarcasm and I loved her sense of humour and the funny things she’d say, but it reached a point where the characters didn’t actually have conversations, it was just sarcastic comments towards each other.

The love interest

I loved Archer. I have a soft point for bad boys in books. I fall for them instantly. Even though there was a love triangle going on, I am glad with Sophie’s choice. Though, to be quite honest, I felt like the love between Sophie and Archer within the series grew extremely quickly. I’m not sure if to call it Insta-love (kinda should) but it’s like the moment Sophie spots Archer, she’s totally crazy about him. Through the series, they have encounters but they don’t share that MUCH time with each other and by the third book they’re in love and basically planning an entire future together.

8766fbb435fef19497cb8c2172b3c0ed.jpg

Character Development

I have to admit I was a little disappointed with this. I loved the characters but I feel like, throughout 3 books, I didn’t really get to learn much about them.

Let’s take Cal (the other love interest) for example. I hardly got any type of info on him or anything at all. I felt like, if a character wasn’t sarcastic like the main character and the main love interest, they didn’t really get any detailing at all.

Cal doesn’t talk. He grunts, he huffs and he once in a while moans or whispers something. That’s all I get. It’s really difficult to get to know a character and grow a liking to them if that’s all you get.

I felt like the three main people :Sophie, Archer and the best friend, Jenna, were always talking and being sarcastic about practically everything. And it doesn’t take long to get to know them in the book. But for the rest of the characters? Nothing. At all. And there’s a lot of characters in the book to explore, but I didn’t really get anything from them at all.

grumpy_cat_meme_2_by_jinxxnixx-d5m15cj

Overall, it was a really fun read and I enjoyed every single book in the series. The books are fast-paced, entertaining and funny. They may have some minor flaws (but those flaws are just my opinion so…) but I think this series is really good and I highly recommend it!

Annnd here’s a cute panda to cheer your day up!

111111114f27d93e-0.jpg

4 thoughts on “Hex Hall Series Review

  1. Do you kow how happy I am to read your post?!?!? No one knows about Hex Hall and it’s a shame because it is such a good trilogy!
    I read it four years ago and I fell in love with it. First, a character named Sophie? I mean, that doesn’t happen often and isn’t it such a beautful name? (wink wink^^)
    For me, it wasn’t insta love because Sophie didn’t think she would marry Archer right away: she found him annoying at first, then hot, and they didn’t truly get together until the third book.
    Loved the sass, loved the attitude.
    I enjoyed reading these books so much and now, reading your review, I’m considering re-reading them!
    I’m so glad to have found someone else to fangirl with!:D

    Like

  2. haha the panda definitely cheered my day up! I completely agree with this review- it’s such a fun read and Archer is gorgeous, though I agree there sadly wasn’t as much character development as there could have been. It’s definitely worth reading though!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

