The List by Siobhan Vivian

10866233

So, after reading the Truth about Alice by Jennifer Mathieu, I was in the mood for some more high school drama. I found this book in an airport (for some reason I find a lot of books at airport stores) but never actually sat down to read it.

It was an interesting read. Full of drama. The story is about a high school tradition where a list gets put up with the names of the ugliest and prettiest girls in the different grades; freshmen, sophomores, juniors and seniors. I don’t actually understand the American grades, but I kinda guessed that freshmen were the youngest and so on.

My problem with this book was the amount of characters we had to follow. It revolves around each and every single girl put on the list. That’s eight girls. By the end of the book I knew who everyone was and what their problems were, but for the first half of the book I had to keep going back to the list on the front page to remember what grade the character was in and whether she’d been considered ugly or pretty.

It’s written in third person. I don’t know if that helped or made it worse. I know it would’ve been awfully difficult to write 8 different girls in first person and make all their voices sound different, but the third person made the narration so neutral it was confusing to know what character we were following in that chapter.

I am also quite disappointed with the ending. It didn’t really have an ending. It did, but it didn’t. All the girls finally come to a sort of realisation, an enlightenment about themselves and that’s that. I don’t know what kind of ending I would’ve wanted, but I can say that this one wasn’t anything spectacular.

Apart from that, the book was good. I enjoyed to see how each girl reacted, what drama unfolded because of their names being on the list and the whole high school feel. It’s an enjoyable book and it won’t take you too long to read.

I totally recommend this book if you’re prepared to listen to 8 teenage girls and their dramatic life in high school.

Eight.

You’ve been warned.

908b673403d441c2ffe2a39b7a94ababf7cba05b8828b3063229b17f2f32d5b7

So-you-agree-s9b0rx

1734966e1a94ff9df821c81975126c4d I kind of want to watch Mean Girls now…

So, have you read The List? Are you on it? Let me know!

And here’s a cute bunny to cheer up your day! If you’re already having a good day… move along, this isn’t for you!

Just kidding!

47-Bunny-Picture

3 thoughts on “The List by Siobhan Vivian

  1. Hmm 8 high school girls….nope, nopety nope. I still don’t know how I survived high school with at least a little of my sanity intact. So…yeah…XD The concept seems pretty interesting though.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m not sure if I’d manage reading about 8 different high school girls but this sounds really interesting. After reading The Truth About Alice I was also looking for some more high school drama. I ended up reading Going Under by S. Walden and Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher; which were quite similar and really good. Have you read those? If not, you should give it a go!

    Like

Leave a Reply

