Worst book ever…

Okay, so it technically isn’t the worst book ever… but, if I would’ve said… worst book so far this year? Worst ya book since I read Twilight… Would you have rushed to read this, to find out what book it is? Nope. Of course not. I’m even surprised you’re reading this with “worst book ever” as a title.

shine-bright-like-a-diamond Sorry, I had to do it…

Okay, so I recently read a book that I purchased a while back… like a while while back…

2.king-tut-unwrappedMaybe not that far back…

It’s called “Tantalize” by Cynthia Leitich Smith. So, what is it about?

Quincie Morris has never felt more alone. Her parents are dead, and her hybrid-werewolf first love is threatening to embark on a rite of passage that will separate them forever. Then, as she and her uncle are about to unveil their hot vampire-themed restaurant, a brutal murder leaves them scrambling for a chef. Can Quincie transform their new hire into a culinary Dark Lord before opening night? Can he wow the crowd in his fake fangs, cheap cape, and red contact lenses — or is there more to this earnest face than meets the eye? As human and preternatural forces clash, a deadly love triangle forms, and the line between predator and prey begins to blur. Who’s playing whom? And how long can Quincie play along before she loses everything?

So not bad… it could be a fun read, right?

WRONG.

tantalize

The book started off okay, and I was enjoying it. There wasn’t much explanation towards the world, nothing was really explained, which was kinda infuriating. But still, I could live with it… it’s okay. And then we reach the half-point, we’re halfway through the book and I don’t know what magic pills this author took, but lemon crackers on a chopstick that was nastyyyy

Shrek-donkey1

Suddenly everything changes. All the characters are something else, the storyline takes a complete spin and I’m left lost. And then we get to the end and it cuts off… And no, that is not a cliffhanger, ‘cos then something had to be left hanging, and that cannot even be called hanging. That was chopped off. I just felt like murdering someone.

cat_with_gun_pointing_left

This is what the book promises:

“Readers will be tantalized by this dark, romantic, and disturbing fantasy of vampires, werewolves, and a strong no-nonsense heroine… Fans of Stephenie Meyer will eat it up.”

Now, here is where I realise that I should probably take these praises more seriously. The Stephenie Meyer was already a big clue that it wasn’t going to go down well…

Now, if they have to tell me that the heroine is no-nonsense… then I should worry. There should be no need for you to tell me this. Mainly because I know that the moment they claim that… well, she ain’t gonna be a no-nonsense girl. She’s going to be an idiot standing on a chair with a big sign on her forehead saying…”I go for walks at night all alone in the woods because…

ancient-aliens-invisible-something-meme-generator-i-m-about-this-intelligent-b869d8

Disturbing… well, yes I was disturbed, but not in that way.

Romantic… the main character was more excited over food than boys.

Look, I can’t even explain it. You need to read this book to get it. It was horrible. I don’t know if all the other books this author has written are this bad, I hope not, but I’m not going to waste my time finding out.

]imgresOkay, I probably will… But still…

Okay so, have you recently read a really awful book? Which one? Have you read Tantalize? Did you like it or hate it? Let me know!

And here’s a pic of a cat holding a golden gun on a unicorn… just because.

i2XMHaY

5 thoughts on “Worst book ever…

Leave a Reply

