The Maze Runner Series

imgres

I bought the Maze Runner like two years ago, because I kept seeing it everywhere. I kept picking it up, prepared to read it, but I could only get through the first page before dropping it and reading something else. I don’t know why. I think it’s because the font was quite small in my edition and I hate reading books when the words are really small ‘cos it gives me a freaking headache.

So I forgot about it and then after many months, saw that they’d made a movie. So of course, I wanted to watch it. Because hey, I had the book at home so I felt entitled to get excited over this movie.

imgres

So I watched the movie, and LOVED it.

watch-movies-before-you-read-books_o_1812163

I realised they would bring a second movie out, and so, I decided to read the series before the second one came out. I didn’t want a repetition of what happened with the Hunger Games. (I watched all the movies, and now I can’t be bothered to read the books) Yeap, I know. Shoot me. Wait, I’ll do it myself.

th

So, I’ve read the books now. The Maze Runner, not the Hunger Games.

Usually, I ALWAYS point out the thing that I didn’t like about a book. Sometimes I can be rather harsh, I know. But still, someone’s gotta do it. Anyway, back to the main topic. I honestly loved this series. It was epic. It was a really fast-paced book, a lot of action, and really relatable characters. You’re thrown into crazy situations time after time, never knowing who’s going to survive or how they’re going to get the hell out, and what I most loved was that each chapter ending is kinda like a cliff-hanger, so you’re always left wanting to continue reading. I would say, ‘Yeah, okay, after this chapter I’ll stop and get some work done.’ End of chapter. ‘WTFFFFFFFFFFFF, I must continueeeee!’

at-dawn-we-ride

And that’s what I want from a book. It’s annoying as f**k, ‘cos I waste an entire day of work, but hey, no one made me read the book. I don’t want to read a book that at any given time I can just leave it to do something else. No. If that’s the case, you haven’t done your job properly!

In any case, if any of you haven’t seen the movie or read the books, I suggest you do. And if you’re like me and you’ve watched the movie without reading the book, go and get the book. You won’t be disappointed, even though you’ve watched the movie. Trust me.

Now, if you don’t know what this series is about then,

images Just kidding…

Here’s the summary;

If you ain’t scared, you ain’t human.

When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his name. He’s surrounded by strangers—boys whose memories are also gone.

Nice to meet ya, shank. Welcome to the Glade.

Outside the towering stone walls that surround the Glade is a limitless, ever-changing maze. It’s the only way out—and no one’s ever made it through alive.

Everything is going to change.

Then a girl arrives. The first girl ever. And the message she delivers is terrifying.
 
Remember. Survive. Run.

And from here it just gets crazier and crazier.

Have you read the maze runner? Did you enjoy it? Let me know!:)

13 thoughts on “The Maze Runner Series

  1. I ABSOLUTELY FREAKING LOVED THIS SERIES!!! I read it last summer I think and honestly read all three within a week or two! I watched the film after I read the book – because I’m one of those weird people who cannot watch a film without reading the book (hence why LOTR is still a mystery to me) – an I couldn’t believe ho true they kept to the book whilst still making it have the film’s own spin on it. I totally agree with you on this though!

    Like

    • So true!!! I loved the film and really wanted to read this series, but I was a bit hesitant as I thought maybe the book might lose some excitement because of knowing what would happen. But I was so surprised, because as you said, they stayed true, but made the movie unique too!!:)

      Like

  2. Oh my gosh, we have the same problem when it comes to Hunger Games. I haven’t read the books yet because I’ve watched the movies first. I’m having a hard time reading the trilogy and yeah I agree with you The Maze Runner series is freaking epic!!!!

    Like

  3. I LOVED THIS SERIES!!! I think I started it last November/December. I found the books in the local library and though they looked interesting. I couldn’t believe how amazing they were. I still haven’t finished Death Cure and I haven’t read Kill Order yet. But I am definitely going to read them. 😊😊😊 I asked for the DVD for Christmas and I absolutely loved the movie.. Although the rest of the family thought it was an awful retake on the Hunger Games!!! How can they think that… This movie was so amazing I loved it. I brought the books about a week ago and I am looking forward to finishing the series. 😀😀😀

    Like

    • I just ordered the Kill Order, cant wait to read it!!!:) i know, lot of people would tell me like.. yeah i dont want to read it or watch the movie cos its probably just a remake of the hunger games… and id be like…WHAT!?!!? just watch and shut up haha!!! I definitely want to buy the movie to add to my collection as its also amazing, which is rare, as most movies never seem as good as the books, but this movie was definitely awesome!!! im so glad you enjoyed it!:)

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I read this series but seriously this was not for me.. I tolerated the first book and barely made it through the second but I still read all three because I was committed to the series. I didn’t like the Maze runner.
    And as far as Hunger games go, I saw the movie first and then read the books. Yet, I enjoyed it very much. 🙂

    Like

  5. I wanted to read Maze Runner for a reeeeally long time and when I saw the trailer to the movie I finally bought it. But I have to say it couldn´t excite me as much as I thought it would! The beginning was too slow for me and I don´t know I didn´t like it that much. And the movie was quite different from the book, it dind´t have all the parts that I did like about the book xD I don´t inted to read the whole series… but glad you liked it 🙂

    Like

    • i think that happened to me when i first picked it up… it took me a few tries to get into it, and i kept putting it down cos it seemed really slow to me and couldnt quite get sucked in… but after watching the movie i decided i really wanted to read it, and i actually really loved it! but i can totally understand where youre coming from 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

