Growing up

Lately I’ve been thinking about what I’m supposed to do with my life. Mostly because everyone around me seems extremely nervous about me not coming up with a solution.

See, the thing is, the moment you’re born, you’re already put into a system. There is no way around it. You will go to school, make friends, get bullied, study, fail and pass, and then, you will choose what you wish to study at university or college. You will make new friends, you will fail and pass, you will decide what type of job you will want. You will get a job, meet someone, buy a dog or cat, buy a house, get married, keep working, pay bills, have children… and then the process will be repeated with them.

Throughout my life all I wanted to do was grow up and take control over my own life. But then it did, and it kind of sucked. Why? Well, because I discovered a lot of truths, and realised that things aren’t as easy as mommy and daddy make them look.

but-mother-i-dont-want-to-grow-up

Most of my friends and family tell me to get up and do something with my life. To get a job, to have hobbies, to do sport… And yet, all I want to do is write and read, and that’s what makes me happy. The thing that I’ve noticed is that people don’t consider writing a job. If I’m trying to write and I tell friends I can’t go out because I’m working, they’ll laugh, and say that I’m not really working, that I can write whenever I want, not to give them excuses.

images

After university, I realised I couldn’t find a job because of what I’d studied. So I took a year off to focus on my writing. And then I realised that I didn’t want to find a normal job. I teach languages to make some money so I don’t starve, but I’ve discovered that maybe, just maybe, I’m not ready to be an adult yet. I left home at a young age, I slept in my car when I became homeless and I’ve been through entire days without eating because I’d gone completely broke and couldn’t afford to buy food.

Now, at 22, I’m happy. I’m happy at not doing sport, at not going to a job every day, at not doing what friends and family think is the right thing to do. I get by, and hopefully one day I can live from my writing and not have to worry about money, but until then…

I will take one day at a time,

without worrying about what anyone thinks.

What’s the point for this post?

Just wanted to remind you guys, that life is short to be doing things that don’t make you happy. And never let people tell you what to do with your life. Take your writing seriously, because writing is serious. And always, always, try to be happy, no matter the odds.

Screen Shot 2015-04-27 at 16.15.02

3 thoughts on “Growing up

  1. What I’ve found is that the majority of people don’t see writing as a career until you’ve been successful, which is extremely frustrating because how else are you supposed to get there without dedicating everything you have?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

