A review of Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

image (29)

I’ve literally just finished reading this book. I picked it up last night. But before I even get into this book, here’s the summary:

They had nothing in common until love gave them everything to lose . . .

Louisa Clark is an ordinary girl living an exceedingly ordinary life—steady boyfriend, close family—who has barely been farther afield than their tiny village. She takes a badly needed job working for ex–Master of the Universe Will Traynor, who is wheelchair bound after an accident. Will has always lived a huge life—big deals, extreme sports, worldwide travel—and now he’s pretty sure he cannot live the way he is.

Will is acerbic, moody, bossy—but Lou refuses to treat him with kid gloves, and soon his happiness means more to her than she expected. When she learns that Will has shocking plans of his own, she sets out to show him that life is still worth living.

A Love Story for this generation, Me Before You brings to life two people who couldn’t have less in common—a heartbreakingly romantic novel that asks, What do you do when making the person you love happy also means breaking your own heart?

Now, the thing with this book is that I’m not sure how I’m supposed to feel now that I’ve finished it. I’m not sure whether I should be crying like a madwoman

5f135588a82a168c904b1705947429c1216bf06475ccb616be895222a0e83fd6

or if I’m so frustrated I want to throw the book across the room

grumpy_cat_meme_2_by_jinxxnixx-d5m15cj

or if this books has affected me so deeply that now I can’t function properly… or if I’ve reached a point that I don’t give a fuck about anything after reading this.

da28db181c9657f12088830c0835b99cf52c811e68839fdad9a63056206f2ac5

The thing is, when I started reading this book, I felt so much promise, so much of everything. My thoughts were, ‘This is going to be the best romance novel I’ve ever read!’ I started telling everyone I knew to read the book, even before finishing it. Because within 30 pages, I could just see in what direction this book was headed. And I was so excited. I read every single word in fear that if I didn’t something terrible would happen, zombies might take over Earth, an  alien invasion, or Twilight might win an award for best written book. So I read, and I felt my chest pounding. I ate every single page like a starving dog, its eyes on a steak. Because at first these two characters hate each other… And with hate comes love. And so I knew, that when it happened, it would melt me and I’d cry and be ruined.

And so I kept reading, and reading, and reading. And still no romance. I kept reading, and reading, and reading… Still no romance. And when there was about 150 pages left I started to get twitchy and nervous… How are you supposed to fit all this crazy romance in such a small amount of space? I kept reading and still nothing… And then, yes, it finally arrived at the very last moment when I’d almost given up hope. I actually went online to make sure I hadn’t misread information thinking this was a romance novel, only to discover that, oh yes, it is a romance novel. And then I frowned and finished the book.

Now I don’t know what to think or feel. Because I really did enjoy the book. But it didn’t turn out the way I’d expected it to. The main reason is this;

You are lead to believe there is going to be this incredibly dramatic romance throughout the book, but there isn’t. The only romance in this book happens at the VERY end, and it’s not really what I’d call chest tightening, eyes watering, hands trembling romance. It’s just these two characters coming to terms with the idea of loving each other, telling each other that yes, they care about each other because they’ve spent six months together… and that’s all.

I could’ve dealt with that if it weren’t for the fact that the main lead, Louisa, doesn’t tell you or show you that she actually loves Will. We’re in her head for like almost 500 pages of a book, and not once does she really truly think about him in that way until the very end. Yes, she does make some comments, like how intimate it is to shave him, and how she blushes at certain things he might say like twice in the entire book, or how she enjoys his company. But that’s all. And so I reached a point where I believed that she cared for him as a carer, and as a friend. But that’s all. And I truly thought that’s how the book would go.

But no. Right at the end she suddenly says she loves him. And I’m sitting there thinking… where did this come from? Yes, I knew they would fall in love with each other because it says it on the book… it’s romance, if they don’t fall for each other it wouldn’t be in the romance section, would it? But throughout the book there is no indication about any of this. At least not to me… Maybe I’m just really dumb.

908b673403d441c2ffe2a39b7a94ababf7cba05b8828b3063229b17f2f32d5b7

Something else bothered me. This book is almost 500 pages long, but I felt like 200 pages in the middle of the book could’ve easily been cut out. Why? Because nothing major really happens. The middle of the book is just repetitive. How she goes and does her job, how they go to this place, or how they do this. In most of these pages they don’t even have a conversation, you’re just told they talked about this or that . I understand that all these pages were there for these characters to develop and grow, especially towards loving each other. But I ended up getting frustrated, because I kept waiting for that love to appear and it never did. And in the meantime, nothing was happening.

The main lead- Louisa, also managed to piss me off quite a few times. Especially when it came to her relationship with her boyfriend Patrick. Clearly they’re not in a happy relationship. They hardly see each other, they have no common grounds… But she won’t leave him. Why? No idea. I get that when you’ve been in a relationship for so long, it’s hard to leave that person. Or when you get used to a certain way of living it’s scary to change. But for example, even when a relationship isn’t going anywhere, sometimes you don’t dump that person because there is at least one thing that truly makes you happy when you’re with them. And so, even if to others it might not make sense, to you it’s enough to stay with that person. But here, well… she didn’t honestly seem to care at all. So why stay? I don’t get it. Especially if you’re twenty-seven. Wouldn’t you be mature enough to realise this? Maybe not… but still.

Don’t get me wrong, I did love this book and it’ll have a special place in my heart. I loved Will Traynor, everything about him. But unfortunately, the book just didn’t go the way I wanted it to. If it had, then I’m sure it’d probably be my favourite book this year. I definitely recommend it, so don’t be put off. I’m sure I’m like the only person who thought this way towards this book.

Did you guys love this book? Hate it? Or feel the same way I did? Let me know!:)

One thought on “A review of Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

  1. I sooo love this book!! But I get what you meant here. Sometimes I set my expectations on a book so high because of what others said only to flop in the end. Nice review btw 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

